Monkeys II

I watched  monkeys negotiating two way traffic on the road to town centre this sunny, summer, Sunday afternoon while out walking.  I’ll call them a family. They were troubled as clearly they needed to cross the road (the fruit stalls are on the other side) but they were aware of the danger.  Pedestrians have to wait to find just the right moment to get across.  Mom dashed and made it – oh dear.  Then big sister with me holding my breath.  Big brother actually skidded to a stop, just managing to get a car past him before continuing his flight. This now left an even more anxious Pop and the very small kidlings  with immense ‘separation anxiety’. They clambered along the fence back and forth in front of me and up and down trees trying to figure a way. Pop chose to dash but the foot high kids figured their own route, the one I’d been hoping Pop and the Mom would take too.  They ran along to a tree that took them to an electricity cable and they tight roped crawled across, losing their balance and peering down fearfully at the traffic as they scrambled to right themselves in their haste to reunite.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monkeys II

  1. loumdel says:

    I waited while holding my breath for the end of the story…ahhhhh! My Sunday was spent watching “the Exotic Marigold Hotel” movie at the matinee on a 37 degree afternoon – you would love this movie – put it on your list…Lou&M…summer has arrived!!

    • wadawson says:

      Hay, Louise, “The Exotic…” was on my list as I was told of it and the film was playing at the “Muzungu” Cinema Complex down the road quite a while back but something got in the way and I didn’t make it. (Maybe it was the nighttime issue.) Some other time… thanks for reminding me.

      T

  2. Susan says:

    Wonderful observations of the monkeys. They are human.

  3. Roneen says:

    A spellbinding story! The perils of urban monkeys! The Zanzibar monkeys in my yard were more or less safe from such dilemmas on the campus by the sea.

Leave a Reply

