The Hope Lies Here

Not unhappy, the hope lies here.  I definitely struggle at times and question all the time.  Much to learn and I think my contribution will unfold with time, with the opportunity to go into the field more.   My colleagues are very nice and the office a pleasant place to be. (Unlike the co-op job; someone described it to me as ‘poisonous’.)   Just uncertain of my role and of what I might be able to offer, three months into my contract.
I live in a hotel residence that is attractive, safe and suits me.  I just discovered how to get hot water into the sink!  I’m slow!  A flick of the switch on the wall, one I couldn’t figure out the purpose of until now.   Roneen and I discovered it.  She is up here on a needed break from a rather bleak placement.  She speaks for herself.  (She’s slow too!  She missed the sign on the bathroom wall suggesting she merely ‘flick the switch’ for hot shower water.)
We’ve had lots of talks and walks and shops and meals and even a movie.  She is, at this moment, looking into staying one more evening so we can go to one more film together at the Alliance française where we can eat quiche and watch a French movie with subtitles on Wednesday nights.
I take Kiswahili lessons but have little confidence, alas.
I’ve a bike and try to go for a quiet ride once a week.  I find the streets and the working environment very noisy.  Could in part be my age and hearing impairment.   I can find quiet, green rides, especially on Sunday mornings.
(title courtesy of Lennie)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Hope Lies Here

  1. wadawson says:

    I take the liberty of posting a portion of your letter Louise, with thanks for it. Let me know if you’d prefer otherwise. xxT
    Louise writes:
    Just got up and voila, another post. I couldn’t help but think that you are feeling a little blue these days…a definite part of the journey my friend. It seemed so ironic that as I came to the end of the new blog post the blog banner photo of you skiing in the quiet Similkamean winter with but a glimpse of the winter sun filtering through the trees popped up….you had just been commenting on how you couldn’t find a quiet time to ride your bike…..and there you were – just your dog-the wilderness-and the swish of your skis…..only skiers understand this beautiful solitude!

    I am glad that you have had a visitor at this time. You might think that you have started out on your journey with the wrong wax on the bottom of your skis but perhaps as the journey becomes more clear you can start making the trek up the slope with the right wax on the bottom of the hill and slowly come up to the light. (My way of giving you a BIG HUG)

  2. loumdel says:

    I’m glad it brought you a little hope

  3. Russel Virginia says:

    Hi Tony,
    Louise sounds like a wonderful person – skiing speaks to us just like a good book or a painting!! As for your journey, small parts of it may not even be “realized” until you are home with several years under your belt – so hopefully the tiny incremental “coos” that you make happen while you are in Arusha will help boost your spirits – and everyone else around you!
    As an aside, Jeff Rubin, an economist, energy expert, recommends reading “Half the Sky” by Nicholas Kristof & Sheryl Wu-Dunn, about oppression of women in the developing world & how best to counter. It argues that the more emancipated women are, the lower the population growth & the stronger the economy. Jeff also if he ruled the world, he would try to convince people that learning to live with less is better than always wanting more. The countries with the highest satisfaction rate (Denmark), don’t have the highest GDP or the highest income per capita.(USA) I just thought these words to be very profound!
    B&I reward ourselves at the end of a hard day on the farm with a 1 1/2 hr bike ride up & around Rigaud Mtn – today we planted all our potatoes, glads & onions! Good to have them in the soil! And we rigged up our watering system from the pond to the garden – a good 500 m away – the Honda pump worked like a charm!
    Finally warming up here after a very cool, wet April & early May!
    Outdoor tennis has begun – love the sun & the breeze –
    Cottage not open yet as we are still working on the house – laying slate & mudding the seams before painting – lots of painting -will take a year to do –
    Raining again & walking 4-4 before bed
    Tired
    Hope the tide will turn
    Ginny xox

    • wadawson says:

      Ginny, Louise is from Québec.
      Louise, Ginny is from Québec.

    • wadawson says:

      Like the sound of slate. 1 1/2 hour bike ride after work?! Impressive. xxt

      • Russel Virginia says:

        The slate is called Montauk Blue from Brazil, when you see it it looks grey, when you look again, it looks grey with a subtle blue undertone – very natural looking – almost a non colour. The pine post & beams are not class one – there are lots of knots , give enough busy-ness to the rooms so I wanted the slate to be a non-entity & “earthy” if you know what I mean!
        Biking(like xc skiing in the winter) is our solution to keeping our joints well oiled until we get to G’ville where we go kayaking between 5-7PM after all the boats have gone to bed – it can be very magical, following the shoreline & then paddling around Lord’s Island when the water is dead calm – as you can imagine!!!
        Still waiting for the tide to turn!!!
        G xox

Leave a Reply

